Evaluating Research Productivity
no. 105 - June 2001

A Merrill Center publication
on the Research Mission of Public Universities

June 13-15, 2001 Retreat: Evaluating Research Productivity

Keynote Speaker
Joan F. Lorden, Associate Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Kansas State University
James Coffman, Provost

James A. Guikema, Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Research and
Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Carol W. Shanklin, Professor, Institutional Management and Dietetics and
Assistant Dean of the Graduate School

R.W. Trewyn, Vice Provost for Research, Dean of the Graduate School, and
President, KSU Research Foundation

University of Kansas
Robert E. Barnhill, Vice Chancellor for Research and Public Service, and
President, KU Center for Research

Donald F. Hagen, Executive Vice Chancellor of the Medical Center

Susan Kemper, Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Gerontology

Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Elias Michaelis, University Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, and
Director, Higuchi Biosciences Center and Center for Neurology and Immunology Research

Mabel L. Rice, Director, Merrill Advanced Studies Center, and University Distinguished Professor,

Richard Schiefelbusch, Director Emeritus, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies and
Merrill Advanced Studies Center

David Shulenburger, Provost

Steven F. Warren, Director, Schiefelbusch Institute for Life Span Studies, and
Director, Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities Research Center

K. Michael Welch, Vice Chancellor for Research, Medical School

University of Missouri - Columbia
Jack O. Burns, Vice Provost for Research

Suzanne Ortega, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Advanced Studies

Michael Podgursky, Professor of Economics

University of Nebraska - Omaha
Thomas H. Rosenquist, Vice Chancellor for Research, Medical School

Iowa State University of Science and Technology
James R. Bloedel, Vice Provost for Research and Advanced Studies

Marit Nilsen-Hamilton, Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology

Rollin Richmond, Provost

Kansas Board of Regents
Kim A. Wilcox, Executive Director

Other Participants
Jon Josserand, Governmental Relations, University of Kansas

Marlin Rein, University Director of Budget and Governmental Relations, University of Kansas

Keith Yehle, Legislative Assistant to United States Senator Pat Roberts

Home | Table of Contents | Previous

© 2002 The University of Kansas Merrill Advanced Studies Center or the individual author
These materials are copyrighted.

This page was modified 4/2/02